The Conversation Piece: Mojo Bone, Charms, Chanel, Hermes and other Style That Men Notice

3 Aug

1 Heart and Soul Necklace – I found this delicate necklace amongst the costume jewelery at a consignment shop. Inspecting it revealed a stamp of 14karat gold and a price tag of $60. This is the kind of treasure hunt find that feels oh so sweet. That was at least 6 years ago. Through 3 apartments, 2 relationships and countless outfits, the necklace has been with me. Dangling from my neck, men and women alike ask about the 2 little charms that hang perfectly at my collar bone. “Is that a heart and foot?” I get asked constantly. “No a heart and soul” is my reply, and they are always charmed.

2 Miu Miu Sunglasses – I saw these sunglasses in the 2012 spring/summer ad campaign for Miu Miu staring Mia Wasikowska. I fell in love. I had to have them. Anyone who knows me knows that I hardly ever pay retail. But in this case, I made an exception. Stepping into the Miu Mis shop in SoHo and knowing I had the money in my pocket to buy what I really wanted (no matter how frivolous) gave me a sense of satisfaction. When I wear my Miu Miu sunglasses I have a bold confidence. They look like money, and they are.

3 Hermes Medor Watch – I don’t remember where I saw this watch for the first time, only that I had an acute need for it that I could not shake. Knowing full well the retail price of this watch was thousands of dollars, I began trolling ebay like a desperate woman at a dive bar at 4AM. Although I did pay the most I had paid for anything on ebay ever, it was a steal. Every time I wear it I get compliments and when people realize it is a watch – forget it, they want to see it up close. And when the mood is right, the closer the better.

4 Vintage YSL – This is a Beacon’s Closet find. A perfect summer dress with a unique print in mid-weight linen. I can’t tell you how many men have stopped me on the street to tell me they like my dress. And then there was the one time I was on a job interview, waiting for my interviewer when a gorgeous man approached me. Already feeling flattered he leaned over and in my ear he whispered “Your zipper is down.” And it was. The entire side from my arm pit to waist was exposed. I turned bright red but thought, “thank goodness I wore my fancy lace black bra today”. If you are going to expose yourself to the world(and specifically, a beautiful stranger) might as well do it in style.

5 Vintage Designer Chanel – This one is such a treasure, and I can’t give you a link or tell you where you can find one just like it, because I have not seen it before or since the day I found this gem at Beacon’s Closet.  And when you have something the unique people can’t help but notice. This hexagonal bag holds quite a bit of items for a night on the town. Functional and fashionable? Sign me up.

6 Love Bone Necklace - One of my closets friends is a jewelry designer known for making a necklace that she calls the “Love Bone”.  She shared that it is the good luck mojo bone that attracts the opposite sex. For skeptics out there be schooled. This interesting piece has been a magnetic charge I can’t quite explain. It is crafted from a cast made from a racoons penis bone. Yes, racoons have an actual bone in their penis. But that is a story for animal planet. For ladies on the look out, I suggest getting one immediately.  If you want to know where you can get this magical conversation piece visit Bones of A Feather.

I would love to know what special piece gets the conversation started in your life. Leave a comment here if you want to share.

XO to my friends and fans. you are my sunshine.

3 Responses to “The Conversation Piece: Mojo Bone, Charms, Chanel, Hermes and other Style That Men Notice”

  1. Owen October 31, 2012 at 12:13 PM #

    Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always useful to read through articles from other writers and use a little something from other websites.

  2. Adeline November 2, 2012 at 12:43 PM #

    There’s certainly a great deal to learn about this issue. I really like all of the points you’ve made.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,044 other followers

